Bipolar Me – Working continues

Things are moving forward at a pace in life. After much trying I finally secured a more permanent and secure job working in Hull city centre. Unfortunately I cannot say too much at the moment as things are still being finalised but watch this space.

The old adage about it being easier to find other work whilst being in work seems to hold true.

And having the issues that I do have in respect to my bipolar, anxiety and depression does not seem to have put my prospective employers off. So the stigma about mental health is steadily being lifted. Unfortunately there is still a long way to go as those who have read my blog on discrimination can testify to (click here for link).

Was interviewed on the Friday and offered the job on the Monday has amazed me. I have applied for so many jobs in the last few months I’ve actually lost count.

Having a job is great. Being in the world of work is great. Work is great therapy. Work has given me my self-respect, my pride and the simple fact that I am not relying on benefits to get by. That I am paying my way. Work distracts me from wallowing in misery and self-pity which is probably what I would be doing otherwise.

However I think it has been a difficult adjustment all around. By virtue of having a job I am not as available to my wife Sarah and our boys as much as I would like to be. In the morning I am often up and out to work before Sarah is awake. Things like seeing the boys off to school has gone by the by. Sacrifices like missing sports days and school events, especially since both our boys go to different schools, for the first time was a bitter pill.

It also means I do not have time to do things like my photography which is a something I also find difficult to contend with. As anyone who knows me, knows I always have a camera to hand. It’s how I express myself and a form of therapy within its self.

Well this was only a short blog. Message me with any questions or suggestions as to what issues I can speak on are welcome.

Great mental health to you all.

Martin.

About martinupfold

Hi I am Martin Upfold and I am a father, husband, army veteran, student of photography and citizen journalist. Dealing with bipolar and depression, tackling it head on. I am sustained by my lovely wife Sarah and we have two beautiful sons Brendan, our youngest and Kieran, our eldest who has Aspergers Syndrome which is on the Autistic Spectrum. What I do to cope with my situation is to do photography and occasionally blog about it.
This entry was posted in Bipolar, Bipolar disorder, depression, Mental health, mental health issues, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bipolar Me – Working continues

  1. Cogitator says:

    Hi, did you disclose your condition to your future employer? PS I empathize with giving up the moments of joy in personal expression and with close family.

    • martinupfold says:

      Hi there, sorry I’ve taken so long to reply. Was on holiday.
      In answer to your question; yes- when I had to explain the reason why I had been out of work for so long. There’s no escaping it to be honest. The interviewer seemed quite positive about it. She even said she was impressed by the fact I didn’t let my mental health beat me.

Leave a comment