Bipolar Me- Life so far.

It’s been at least 3 months or so since I last blogged. My last blog was about how I was discriminated by a potential employer. That situation has still left a bitter taste in my mouth.

However despite this I have accomplished the seemingly impossible-

I got a job.

It’s tedious, repetitive and laborious but it has meant I have come off benefits and I have something I have not had in the six years since I was last in a job- my personal pride and self respect through an earned wage.

But here is the rub. I have not told my employer about my situation with my mental health. Usually I am very honest about my bipolar and how it affects myself, my family and our situation. I sincerely hope that my lack of clarity does not come to bite me in the arse.

Thing to remember is simply this and it is something that I have taken a long time to realise-

I am NOT defined by my mental health issues; how I live with and deal with my bipolar is what defines me. My opening gambit is not “Hi, I’m Martin and I have bipolar.”

Today, right now, if you stuck me in a room full of people who are not affected by mental health issues and asked someone who had just walked in to choose the person with a mental health issue would they pick me? I doubt it. Honestly, I do doubt it.

It’s not as if I’m the living cliche of someone with mental health issues rocking back and forth, dribbling away, mumbling nonsense in a straight jacket now.

The job is only a temporary thing but it’s a start.

Actively I am for a permanent job. I apply for jobs and time to time I get a response. Usually it’s a rejection but you get that unfortunately, It is their loss really showing a lack of imagination at the possibilities I could bring.

But as in everything you got to remain positive and move forward. Keep going.

Any and all comments are welcome.

I wish you all good mental health.  Remember – KEEP GOING!

 

About martinupfold

Hi I am Martin Upfold and I am a father, husband, army veteran, student of photography and citizen journalist. Dealing with bipolar and depression, tackling it head on. I am sustained by my lovely wife Sarah and we have two beautiful sons Brendan, our youngest and Kieran, our eldest who has Aspergers Syndrome which is on the Autistic Spectrum. What I do to cope with my situation is to do photography and occasionally blog about it. How I got in to photography is that it was a way of dealing with my depression and bipolar by challenging it head on. It is very easy to let my mental health issues take control and rule and ruin my life. Photography gives me a reason to get out of the house and deal with the world in a creative and constructive way.
This entry was posted in Bipolar, Bipolar disorder, depression, Mental health, mental health issues, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bipolar Me- Life so far.

  1. David Tuveson says:

    Very well written, good job Marting, I am glad you got a job even if it is just temporary

  2. steelcityman says:

    Reblogged this on steelcityman and commented:
    A reblog of a follow up, by Martin Upfold, ‘Bi-Polar me -discrimination, describes Martin’s recent efforts in the hunt for employment … visit his blog and give him a read … well worth it…

  3. steelcityman says:

    Hello mon ami… another well written piece, reblog he’d 😎👍

  4. Kenneth Preston says:

    Top man, and I would like to edit a part, I don;t think living and dealing with your bi-polar defines you either, I think that everything you have gone through and dealt with in life, not just including bi-polar, defines you too, and the fact that you found the strength to deal with it and move forward, especially when you don;t feel like it, also defines you. As I said at the beginning, Top Man 🙂

Leave a Reply

