Bipolar Me- A good week

For the last few days I have been busy with things in my life and life is good.

This week my photographs have appeared in a small pop up gallery in the Hull city centre. It is the first time since I’ve taken up photography that my work has appeared in the public space. The only other place it is usually seen is on the Internet on social media sites such as Flickr, Facebook and Twitter.

It gives me such a buzz to see people viewing and giving me feedback on my works. It’s an amazing boost to ones self esteem to hear what people have to say and think.  And generally the feed back has been positive, which is a relief.

The images in the gallery are as below.

These three images I am proud of as there was little to no planning in the taking of these images.  But they fit in with my interest of documentary and veterans.  From left to write we have Mike and his dog Red, a veteran handing out wristbands and lastly Cassie mopping out the kitchen. (Click on them to see them in their entirety and I would love a comment)

Alex

This image I am very proud of as if you look at it carefully and long enough it reads like a story, which is the intention.  Everything from the wound on the veterans head to look on his face to the medals to clenched fist to open hand on his beret and dog leash.  It tells a deeply personal story.

I have also heard from a publisher about the possibility writing a book.  They like what they read which is good.

This has done wonders for me with my mental health as it has been a fairly positive week.  My bipolar and depression has been in check.  Though the gallery opening was an anxious time.

All in all a satisfying week.

Until the next blog, have positive mental health.  Follow me on twitter @lash1978

 

About martinupfold

Hi I am Martin Upfold and I am a father, husband, army veteran, student of photography and citizen journalist. Dealing with bipolar and depression, tackling it head on. I am sustained by my lovely wife Sarah and we have two beautiful sons Brendan, our youngest and Kieran, our eldest who has Aspergers Syndrome which is on the Autistic Spectrum. What I do to cope with my situation is to do photography and occasionally blog about it. How I got in to photography is that it was a way of dealing with my depression and bipolar by challenging it head on. It is very easy to let my mental health issues take control and rule and ruin my life. Photography gives me a reason to get out of the house and deal with the world in a creative and constructive way.
This entry was posted in Bipolar, Bipolar disorder, depression, Mental health, mental health issues, Uncategorized, Veterans and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bipolar Me- A good week

  1. steelcityman says:

    Great to see a positive slant to your life at the moment …. don’t forget, you owe me a hug !!

Leave a Reply

