More Bipolar Me- blogging

Last night I went to the Sheffield Bloggers Network meet up (@sheffblog follow them on twitter)  and shared a room with like minded individuals, even bumping into friends.  It’s weird when you sit down for a pint, open a blog and the very person who’s blog you are reading calls out “lash” to you in the bar.  Talk about timing.  Looking at you Pat Pinder (@aSteelCityman)

The talks were friendly, interesting and informative.  The only problem I have is the concentration on monetisation of blogs.  Which is great in itself if you blog about health, beauty, fitness, football and maybe weddings but I blog about my mental health.  So I have difficulty seeing how I can turn my mental health issues in to a small amount of income.  The thing I’m interested in is building an audience, a following of people who read and react – negatively or better still positively – to my blogs.

Karl, who is a great guy- health, well being and fitness instructor.  Pointed out that I could monetise my blog by talking about holistic therapies and things connected to condition in life but we will wait and see.  It is a problem I will grapple with in time.

People have always praised me for my honesty and openness in my blogs.  It’s all I can be.  My mental health issues are what the are.  Sometimes I don’t feel like blogging but I do, it is in a way a form of therapy in itself.

As the old saying goes- “a problem shared, is a problem halved”

I want people to share in my highs and the lows that I experience in my everyday life.  So my personal mission is to blog at least once a week to once a month and see if people find me and find something I say worthy of them to read.

Well let me know what you think and follow me and my misadventures on twitter at @lash1978

Any question feel free to ask me on here or email me at – martinupfold@gmail.com

 

About martinupfold

Hi I am Martin Upfold and I am a father, husband, army veteran, student of photography and citizen journalist. Dealing with bipolar and depression, tackling it head on. I am sustained by my lovely wife Sarah and we have two beautiful sons Brendan, our youngest and Kieran, our eldest who has Aspergers Syndrome which is on the Autistic Spectrum. What I do to cope with my situation is to do photography and occasionally blog about it. How I got in to photography is that it was a way of dealing with my depression and bipolar by challenging it head on. It is very easy to let my mental health issues take control and rule and ruin my life. Photography gives me a reason to get out of the house and deal with the world in a creative and constructive way.
This entry was posted in Bipolar, Bipolar disorder, Blogging, depression, Mental health, mental health issues, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Bipolar Me- blogging

Leave a Reply

